But… I’m Tired. I. Need. Energy.

Harrison Wendland
5 min readFeb 8, 2019
Energy. We all need it.

How do you consistently keep energy?

How do you keep from spreading yourself too thin?

It’s easy for me to say yes when someone needs something from me, I live with an “others first” mentality. I love doing things to help others.

In my eyes, anything that I can do to help others also ends up helping me.

I still haven’t found an easy way to explain this next thought. So, if anyone has an idea, definitely please let me know. But, I’m sure that most of us have heard something along the lines of this Chinese saying, There is a Chinese saying that goes:

“If you want happiness for an hour, take a nap. If you want happiness for a day, go fishing. If you want happiness for a year, inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime, help somebody.”

For centuries, the greatest thinkers have suggested the same thing: happiness is found in helping others.

So, how do we teach someone that to be happier, they have to genuinely want to help others without expecting anything in return?

Helping others to help yourself. It’s really an interesting concept and one I have difficulty wrapping my…

--

--

Harrison Wendland

HarrisonWendland.com | Write about personal development, communication, entrepreneurship & books I finish (80+ yearly). Find me on Twitter & LinkedIn