Doing Work That Matters

Every work that we do matters somewhere or to someone.

Harrison Wendland
7 min readSep 4, 2022

Work matters. All of it.

If you’re doing work that you don’t think matters, I’d really challenge that.

I’ll use myself as an example. I have been working at Lexington International for almost 3 years. Their main brand is Hairmax and I’ve progressed through different responsibilities to be where I am now. Throughout my time, I have added various tasks to my key responsibilities while maintaining an abundance of mundane and administrative things that I could train anyone to do.

However, these are tasks that need to be done. Without them, certain things just wouldn’t function. If no one was ordering the paper or printer ink, there wouldn’t be the ability to present internal documents for review. If no one was processing the retailer returns that come back from Nordstrom or Costco then our receivables balance would be overstated and there wouldn’t be a proper picture of where we are financially. If no one was entering the invoices received, vendors would stop working with the company.

None of those three things are particularly “fun” or “rewarding” should I say, but they are essential.

It’s like an oil change or a tire rotation for your car. There aren’t many people who get excited to…

--

--

Harrison Wendland

HarrisonWendland.com | Write about personal development, communication, entrepreneurship & books I finish (80+ yearly). Find me on Twitter & LinkedIn